Donald Trump Has Become The Third President To Ever Be Impeached


On Wednesday, December 18, after less than three months since the idea was initially floated, history was made: Donald J. Trump became the third president in American history to be impeached. The House of Representatives voted around 8:30pm on the first of two articles of impeachment, finding the 45th commander-in-chief guilty of abuse of power. The second vote, on obstruction of justice, is currently being undergoing the voting process.

Even if the House doesn’t vote yes on obstruction of justice, that still means Trump will face a Senate trial, where it will be decided if they will take the next step and remove him from office. Unlike the House, which flipped to Democratic control just over a year ago, the Senate remains controlled by Republicans, who have largely been in lock-step with a president they once almost uniformly opposed before he received the party ticket in the summer of 2016.

Trump is now part of an elite group of U.S. presidents who have successfully been impeached by the House, following Andrew Johnson and Bill Clinton. It would be four, but Richard Nixon resigned after articles of impeachment had been filed but before they could go to a vote. Trump is currently at one of his rallies, and will now doubt have choice words for any supporters he has left.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here